Sign In

Council Membership

The Orange County Child Care and Development Planning Council (Council) consists of 40 members appointed by the Orange County Board of Supervisors and the Orange County Superintendent of Schools.  Council members serve a two-year term and can serve more than once.  New members are recruited each spring to fill any vacancies.  Contact Susan Shepardson at with any questions. 

Members are placed in various categories described below:

  • Child Care Provider:  A person who provides child care services or represents a person who provides child care services.
  • Consumer:  A parent or person who receives, or has received child care services within the past 36 months.
  • Public Agency Representative:  A person who represents a city, the county, or a local educational agency.
  • Community Representative:  A person who represents an agency or business that provides private funding or child care services, or who advocates for child care services through participation in civic or community-based organizations but is not a child care provider and does not contract with California Department of Education for child care and development services.
  • Discretionary:  A person who is appointed at the discretion of Orange County Board of Supervisors and Orange County Superintendent of Schools. 

2021-2022 Members

Tiffany Alva, First 5 OC, Children & Families Commission

Janet Anderson-Deusenberry - Holy Family Catholic Preschool

Penny Andrews - Brea Olinda Unified School District

Sandy Avzaradel - Early Childhood OC/Charitable Ventures

Scott Ayres - Spectrum Montessori

Kamica Barnes - OC Department of Education, Special Education

Dolores Barrett - Community Action Partnership OC

Chris Becerra - Chris Becerra Consulting/Consumer

Sue Bierlich - Retired, Nature Preschool Director

Seon Chun-Burbank - Vanguard Unversity of Southern California

Julie DeLorenzo - Irvine Unified School District

Wendi Evans - The LGBTQ Center of Orange County

Maureen Fitzpatrick - Retired, California State University San Marcos

Dr. Elida Garcia - Orange County Department of Education, Early Learning

Fritzi Gragg - Cataylist Families, Inc.

Nadhira Hathotuwegama - Little Scholars Academy of California/Consumer

Darcie Kass - A Child's Place Learning Center

Jennifer Kinkel - Fullerton College

Kathleen Leary - Newport-Mesa Unified School District

Janneth Linnell - Rancho Santiago Community College District

Lee Lombardo - YMCA Community Services/YMCA of Orange County

Yessika Magdaleno - Little Flowers Family Child Care

Bertha Manzanares - Community Care Licensing

Kathleen McFarlin - Regional Center of Orange County

Diane Montano - Regional Coordinator California State PTA

Bryan Nguyen - VSA SoCAL Non-Profit Organization/Consumer

Valerie Padilla - Orange County Head Start, Inc.

Deanna Parga - Help Me Grow Orange County

Megan Pritchard - Lake Forest Mom's Club/Consumer

Yumi Ramirez - Boys & Girls Club of Garden Grove

Lisa Sciabica - Mariners Church Preschool

Amanda Selogie - Inclusion Education Project

Lisa Stambolis - Families Forward

Traci Stubbler - The City of Irvine, Community Services

Larua Vidal - Califroia Early Childhood Mentor Program

Scarlett vonThenen - California State Council on Developmental Disabilities